Open Accessibility Menu

Jon Fritz voted TRAC STAR of the year

HRRMC honored Jon Fritz of Salida as its 2017 TRAC STAR of the year at a hospital ceremony on February 26. Fritz was selected in a staff-wide vote from a field of 12 TRAC STAR finalists.10 people at a snack table

TRAC STAR is an acronym for the core values that guide employee performance: teamwork, recognition, attitude, customer service, safety, talent, accountability and respect. The TRAC STAR award recognizes outstanding employees and is presented quarterly to three finalists. All of the 2017 finalists are eligible to be named TRAC STAR of the year provided they are still employed by HRRMC.

Fritz, a certified diabetes educator and certified exercise physiologist, joined HRRMC’s staff in 2014. He has been a driving force in developing Wellness U, the hospital’s community and employee wellness program. During his tenure, the program has grown to include discounted direct access lab testing; HRRMC’s own health fair; a new staff gym; and classes in tai chi, yoga and diabetes education.

“Jon is a perfect example of someone who walks the walk,” wrote the employee who nominated him for the award. “He is good at what he does and is constantly doing what he can to improve the programs we offer to staff and community members.”

CEO Bob Morasko presented Fritz with a $1,000 check. A plaque with his photo will be displayed in the hospital café.

Morasko also recognized the two runners-up for TRAC STAR of the year, Lori Kramer of Salida and Scott Allen of Nathrop. Each received a $250 check.

Kramer, a scheduling coordinator for the Cardiopulmonary Department, has been with HRRMC since 2013. She was described by a co-worker as “the most positive person I have met with a ‘whatever it takes’ attitude.” Another nominator said “Lori continuously strives to build her knowledge and skills…she always wants to learn and take on new tasks.”

Allen, supervisor for the Cardiopulmonary Department, has worked at HRRMC since 2014. According to the employee who nominated him, Allen works well in team situations and communicates positively with others. “He has a very calming effect on everyone around him, especially in a time of crisis.”

During the hospital ceremony, Morasko acknowledged the other 2017 TRAC STAR of the year finalists: Bette Thielges, CJ Johnson, Bob Dimmitt, Amber Rushton, Marji Ackermann, Neva Lazrine, John Daugherty, Paula Fowler and Annette Appel.

HRRMC employees may nominate any of their colleagues for the TRAC STAR award. Each quarter, members of the hospital's Communications Team review the nominations and then cast individual ballots to determine the TRAC STAR of the quarter and two additional finalists. Twelve nominees vied for this year’s annual award.