Open Accessibility Menu

Laura Marcello Voted Hospital TRAC STAR of the Year

Heart of the Rockies Regional Medical Center named Laura Marcello of Poncha Springs its 2015 TRAC STAR of the Year at a hospital ceremony on Feb. 29. Marcello was selected by her co-workers in a staff-wide vote from a field of 10 TRAC STAR finalists.3 people and a cake

TRAC STAR is an acronym for the core values that guide employee performance: teamwork, recognition, attitude, customer service, safety, talent, accountability and respect.

A support technician in the Imaging Department, Marcello has worked at HRRMC for more than 15 years. She was praised by the co-worker who nominated her for providing the "best customer service," as well as having strong organizational skills, a respectful attitude, and a willingness to greet everyone with a smile. Marcello was also recognized in 2005 as a TRAC STAR of the Quarter.

CEO Bob Morasko presented her with a $1,000 check and a certificate to be professionally photographed. A plaque with her photo will be displayed in the hospital café.

Morasko also recognized the two runners-up for TRAC STAR of the Year, Debbie Eggleston of Howard and Ann Croghan of Salida. Each received a $250 check.

Eggleston joined the hospital staff in 1983 and worked for many years as a registered nurse in the Emergency Department before transferring to the Education Department. In December 2015, she completed her Master of Science in Nursing Education at Regis University and received the Award for Nursing Excellence at her pinning ceremony.

Croghan, a pelvic floor physical therapist who began working in HRRMC's Rehabilitation Department in 2014, was recognized for the service she provides to women in the hospital's Family Birthing Center. She consults with women during pregnancy and postpartum, helping them prepare for the birth, exercise safely, and deal with issues such as incontinence or pain.

During the hospital ceremony, Morasko acknowledged the other 2015 TRAC STAR of the Year finalists: Monica Hutson, Jaime Holmes, Sherry Garritson, Diane Karis, Tyler Stinson, Mike Madden and Roxanne Clark.

HRRMC employees may nominate any of their colleagues for the TRAC STAR award. Each quarter, members of the hospital's Communications Team review the nominations, and then cast individual ballots to determine the TRAC STAR of the Quarter and two additional finalists.

All 12 finalists are eligible to be named TRAC STAR of the Year. Only 10 finalists vied for this year's award because one nominee was a finalist in two different quarters and another nominee has left employment with the hospital.